“Singing” Restaurant’s Brutal Response to Tripadvisor’s Complaint


A customer who complained that restaurant staff were singing while he worked found himself at the end of a scathing response from the restaurant’s social media team.

The guest, who goes by the name “Jevs” on TripAdvisor, said he visited The Fountain Inn in Pontarddulais, near Swansea, on March 18.

After enjoying their meal, they complained on TripAdvisor: “Come often to this establishment, the food, the environment is really good, but during the last visit on March 18, we had to suffer while listening to a member of staff singing (quite loudly) along to the music! It was really off-putting and very annoying!”.

Most people disagreed with the comments, saying the vocals were “still in tune”.

Sharing the complaint on its social media page, The Fountain Inn replied: “Dear Jevs – We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your visit with us on March 18, despite the food and the environment really At Fountain Inn, we always strive to provide our guests with an enjoyable experience and are often praised for our smiling, caring staff.

“Following your concern, we have contacted our Human Resources department, but unfortunately, staff being happy in their workplace and expressing this through singing is not a revocable offence. However, on your recommendation , we have informed the member of staff in question that he may wish to withdraw from their upcoming audition for The Voice on the BBC.

“We hope you will continue to visit to enjoy our food and our establishment in the future and please do not hesitate to tell any annoying staff member to refrain from singing so that you do not suffer from their happiness at the future Sincerely, Team Fountain Inn

Intrigued by the comments, manager David Charles told WalesOnline that staff have often been complimented for their good humor and “pretty singing”.

“It’s a sign of happiness and we pride ourselves on a good vibe and we all feed off each other, I would never take time out of my day to complain about someone being happy. I couldn’t not understand that.

“My wife usually has clients who admire her singing. Our staff all love their jobs and care about their jobs. It’s been a tough few months with all the unhappiness and sadness around Covid and that’s nice to come to a place where people can enjoy and get away from it all,” he said.

The hostel wanted to share the feedback to encourage customers to be more aware of the challenges in the hospitality industry.

“We get great customers, but it’s understandable that some customers complain about the slightest thing,” David added.


About Author

Comments are closed.